Barbeyaki

Untapped Grilling and Other Addictions

Gardening Musts

I think most of you are very much aware of my fondness for Gardening. 

I must admit is has been a huge learning curve for me this year with many successes and a few complete failures. But I did manage to not buy one stinkin’ vegetable the entire summer  and was fortunate to taste what fresh organically grown stuff really taste like as compared to the Grocery Store’s Steroidal Stuff.

I am now in the process of clearing out the residue of Spring and Summer. The plants have done their job and provided for me for 6 months now. Now begins the toiling task of reenergizing the soil that has produced so much. My next posting will discuss The Sabbath, The resting period for the garden. But before that I wanted to share some wisdom I received from a 90 year old Aunt-in-law who has spent her life in gardens and soil. I hope you find it as meaningful as I did.

1. Plant Three Rows Of Peas (P’s)

P’s

1.Perseverance

2. Politeness

3. Prayer

2. Plant Three Rows of Squash

Squash

1.Squash Gossip

2.Squash Selfishness

3. Squash Indifference

3. Plants Three Rows of Lettuce

Lettuce

1. Let Us Be Loyal

2. Let Us Be Truthful

3. Let Us Love One Another

4. And finally, No Garden Is Complete Without Four Turnips

Turnips

1. Turn Up For Work

2. Turn Up For Church

3. Turn Up With A Smile

4. Turn Up On Time

P.S. She did tell me to pass on to make sure you pulled up the weeds!

Where do these “Older” folks get this great stuff. We will be forever indebted to their immense wisdom.

Thank you Aunt Ruby!

If you like this blog and would like to follow it each time a new entry comes out, just click on the Follow button at the bottom right of the page and enter your email address. It’s that easy! Thanks and tell a friend.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

