Barbeyaki

Untapped Grilling and Other Addictions

Beets Me!

Just Awful!

Do you remember your Mom serving canned beets once in a while? Had to be the most disgusting thing I ever put in my mouth. I think they served ’em at our house when there was nothing left in the cupboard. My Dad would eat them cause he would eat anything, and my mother would fake it so she looked like a responsible parent. But I know she couldn’t stand them either.

About 10 years ago my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary at one of those”Fancy Pant” Restaurants. On the menu was Trio of Fresh Beets and Goat Cheese with Balsamic Dressing. Now I do love balsamic vinegar and I do love goat cheese. So I thought I would give Beets another shot. There were red ones, yellow ones, orange ones. There were variegated ones, multi color ones, and striped ones. Who knew. Well I loved them and set out on a journey to produce my own garden grown beets and make a meal out of them.

I harvested three types of beets for my dish, yellow, red, and variegated right from the garden. The I cubed them and put them in a bowl.

Cubed Beets

Variegated Beet

Then I started adding some other wonderful delights form the garden. Fingerling Potatoes, green onions, red onions, cherry tomatoes, and sprinkled some fresh chopped oregano in it. Coated the whole mess with some Extra Virgin Olive Oil and a little salt and pepper. Then spread them on a cookie sheet and roasted them for 25 minutes at 400 degrees.

Beets Me!

Next placed a bed of mix greens in a bowl with some couscous on top and covered them both with the grilled beets and veggies. Topped with some garlic goat cheese and what a meal!

Everythiong Should Get a Second Chance

If you like this blog and would like to follow it each time a new entry comes out, just click on the Follow button at the bottom right of the page and enter your email address. It’s that easy! Thanks and tell a friend.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

