Barbeyaki

Untapped Grilling and Other Addictions

OLD FRIENDS

There are a few truly great sayings about friends, especially old friends:

“Best friend is someone who knows all about you and loves you anyway.” Elbert Hubbard

“True friends are very difficult to find, hard to leave, and impossible to forget.” Anonymus

“A true friend is one who thinks you are a good egg even if you are half cracked.” Anonymus

I only have a few Friends. Other than family, I can count them on one hand. I thought at one point in my life I had a ton of friends. But as I started growing older, a little more wiser perhaps, the value and meaning of real friendship began to define itself more clearly to me. How many do you have? Lots? Really? I want to introduce you to two of my OLD FRIENDS. 

This is Mavis.

Mavis

Tiberius

And this is her overweight Chihuahua Tiberius. Mavis is my friend. And so is Tiberius. Mavis is somewhere between 95 and 100 years old. I am not sure as she still has a woman’s vanity and tries her best to buy a couple years when she can. She moved to Southern California 5 years ago from New York where she was an executive for RCA and Warner Borthers. She personally knew Elvis, Kenny Rogers, The Eurythmics, John Denver…..the list goes on and on. Mavis is Panamanian. Her brain is sharper than most 25 to 40 year old people. These days she sits alone in her condo and occasionally has visitors where she delights us with her “Cracked Egg” stories of her colorful past. She would do anything for me, and I would do anything for her. She loves me for who I am; messed up, overweight, slightly red neck. I love her for the similiar reasons. We do not judge each other, but relish in each others imperfection.

This is Julius.

Julius

Julius is a World War II veteran and as you can see by his attire, an avid fisherman. I have been bringing Julius birthday cake, chocolates, all kind of sweets for a long time until he finally shared with me he was Diabetic. Ooops! Julius’s wife died several years ago. He misses her dearly. Her pictures surround him in his apartment. He truly loved his wife who was surely her best friend. I could not visit Julius for about two weeks and went to see him this past week. When I walked in he had a piece of white bread stuffed with some pastrami hanging out of  his hand. When he saw me, he stopped in his very slow tracks and said, “where in the hell have you been”.  Julius missed me! It is a very nice feeling to have been missed. And I had missed Julius too.

Well I am starting to tear up as I write this so I better get to the end quickly. The simple nuts and bolts of this is that true friends are very rare and share a couple of very powerful characteristics. They accept each other for who they are and they miss each other all the time. So go back and start counting how many friends you really have. Did you get past your left hand?

conocidos muchos amigos pocos

If you like this blog and would like to follow it each time a new entry comes out, just click on the Follow button at the bottom right of the page and enter your email address. It’s that easy! Thanks and tell a friend.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

